EPFL awards 1179 Masters


At this year’s graduation ceremony, EPFL presented Masters degrees as well as accolades to various personalities – from the best first-year student to two honorary doctorates – in front of a live audience once again.

Was it the Caribbean heat of Cuban-Swiss singer Yilian Cañizares? The catchy speech of EPFL President Martin Vetterli? The enthusiastic congratulations of Swiss President Guy Parmelin? The sincere applause? In the end, it is surely a combination of all this that made the EPFL graduation ceremony a unique and unforgettable event. It took place at the SwissTech Convention Center on Saturday October 2, in front of a live audience. A total of 1,179 master’s degrees were awarded, as well as awards for the best students and teachers of the School (see below) and two doctor’s degrees honoris causa.

In his speech, President Vetterli ensured that in addition to their technical training, new graduates would also leave EPFL with a number of social and societal benefits. “Your experience here, although particularly diverse, rests on solid Swiss foundations,” he said. Here are some tips: “Remember how complex human nature is” and “Continue to cultivate the network of contacts who have helped you here in your studies, no matter where your career takes you. And he called on recent graduates to “stay humble, for scientific discovery is an endeavor that always goes forward, never fully finished.” And stand firm, because the knowledge you acquire is part of the very foundation of our civilization. “

President Parmelin continued in the same vein, praising the resilience of students who graduated in the midst of a pandemic and their “ability to adapt to move forward.” He added: “Your success is also the success of a proven training system, a high-level Swiss academic program.

The graduation ceremony was also an opportunity for EPFL to honor two personalities whose numerous professional achievements have combined scientific progress and human values. Lorraine Daston, American science historian, received an honorary doctorate “in recognition of her leading role in expanding our understanding of the history of science and technology, and of the exceptional work she has done in the field of science and technology. head of collective efforts at the Max Planck Institute. for the history of science in Berlin, first as head of department, then as director. Soumya Swaminathan, Indian pediatrician and chief scientist of the World Health Organization, received an honorary doctorate for her research and leadership, which has enabled the global dissemination of scientific knowledge on tuberculosis, HIV and, more recently , the COVID-19 pandemic. .

Martin Vetterli also congratulated Anna Kiesenhofer, gold medalist in road cycling at the Tokyo Olympic Games and doctoral student in mathematics at EPFL.

During the ceremony, two Alumni Awards were presented to personalities nominated by the EPFL Alumni Club. A prize was awarded to Claudia Clopath, who obtained a doctorate in computer science in 2009; she has had a remarkable international career at the crossroads of neuroscience and artificial intelligence. The other went to Pierre-Alain Ruffieux, holder of a doctorate in chemical engineering in 1998 and today CEO of Lonza; he has built a solid career in the pharmaceutical industry, directly contributing to improving the well-being of individuals and society and to promoting Swiss industrial know-how internationally.

Prices for students

Youth Prize:

François Schiavini, physical, born in December 1999

Merit Award:

Nicolas Bollier, Swiss qualified electrician with a master’s degree in electrical engineering

Sports price:

Nathan Wanner who, in addition to his master’s studies in architecture, competed in high-level athletics

GPA of the highest Master (tied):

Riccardo Tenderini, mathematics, 5.94

GPA of the highest Master (tied):

Lingjing Kong, computer science, 5.94

Third highest cumulative average of Master:

Clément Firat, physical, 5.92

GPA of the highest baccalaureate:

Camille Frayssinhes, life sciences, 5.84

Second highest cumulative baccalaureate average:

Philémon Bordereau, mathematics, 5.81

Third highest cumulative average of the baccalaureate:

Kevin Rizk, mathematics, 5.79

Highest GPA in first year:

Julie Bannwart, mathematics, 5.98

Prices for teachers

The Credit Suisse Prize was awarded to Martin Jaggi, Tenure Track Assistant Professor at the Machine Learning and Optimization Laboratory.

The EPFL student association, AGEPoly, awarded prizes to the best teachers in the School. This year’s winners are:

School of Fundamental Sciences and PolySphère d’Or Prize:

Paul Ricci

School of Life Sciences:

Julien shillcock

Engineering school:

Pedro reis

School of Computer Science and Communication:

Michel schinz

School of Architecture, Civil Engineering and the Environment:

Kristin schirmer

College of Technology Management:

Nicola Winzenried

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.